Comic Con 2011

So, Comic Con 2011, yay! As usual I took the train from LA to SD, but this was the first time I did preview night and I loved it. So, I think I’ll do preview night from now on. I got to talk to a lot of artists under less stress than the usual Thursday through Sunday show. Anyway, as you can see from the list below, those reports will be up in the next few days.

While waiting for the train at Union Station, I talked to Martin McIntosh, who owns Outre Gallery and Publishing in Melbourne, Sydney, and Perth. He was going to Comic Con because many of the artists he carries would be there. Starting in a small storefront in Sydney, he’s been handling “low-brow” and comic art for the past 10 years. He said if he’d thought too hard about going into the gallery business, he wouldn’t have done it, but he’s glad he did. He must be doing something right because it’s 10 years later and he’s not only still in business, he’s in triplicate. Later that day I was talking to a fanboy on the wonderful Comic Con shuttle about this gallery owner from Australia I met, and it turns out that the fanboy had ordered art from it. Small world, ain’t it?

The show was as crowded as ever even though I learned later that several big studios (Disney, Warner Bros, and some others [I didn’t even notice because I was only in Artists’ Alley and Small Press area]) didn’t exhibit this year and that there’s a 125K cap on tickets. It still felt like there were way too many people in the hall, but maybe that’s just me.

Arkham City was everywhere. I saw a billboard from the train; the side of a bus; the entire side of a hotel, the trams:

And one of those billboards that get driven around town:

I guess it worked because I added it to my pull and I’m enjoying it so far.

Also Batman, Batman in Legos:

There were also leafleteers:


I hope she was still smiling on Saturday

And cosplay,


That wasn’t his car


I wasn’t expecting to see a Lolita at Comic Con, but she was there and I took her picture


They were a cute family, but why would you bring a babe in arms (costume optional) to Comic Con?


They were sweet and kept their CCSD bags when I asked them to


It was a warm day so I hope she got into air conditioning soon


Loved the goggles

I’ll have more on Comic Con 2011 in the near future, so please keep an eye out for reports on these artists:

Anson Jew (agoynamedjew.blogspot.com)
Ron Brown (freefallart.com)
Sabrina (sabrinabellydancer.com)
Ben Henderson (goldencrusader.com)
Steam Crow (steamcrow.com)
Kirstie Shepherd (curioandco.com)
Paul Roman Martinez (19xxad.com)
Ryan Claytor (elephanteater.com)
The Frantic Meerkat and The Mincing Mockingbird (mincingmockingbird.com and franticmeerkat.com)
Karen Knighton (birdenvy.com)
Mary Bellamy (marybellamy.com)
John L. Brooks II (11thhourbooks.net)
Mike Bocianowski (artistmb.com)
Anthony Hon (motenaicomics.blogspot.com)
Shannon Wheeler (www.tmcm.com/tmcm)
Brett Bean (2dbean.com)
Celine Chapus (purpletophat.com)
Amy Mebberson (mimisgrotto.com)
Sho Murase (shomurase.com)
Katie Cook (katiecandraw.com)
Cat Staggs (www.catstaggs.com)
Bryan “Kaiser” Tillman (dark-legacy.net)
Sze Jones (szejones.com)
Maddox! (maddox.xmission.com)
Thien Pham (thienisawesome.blogspot.com)
Ben Costa (shilongpang.com)
Jeannie L.S. Galster (jeaniels.com)
Debbie Huey (bumperboy.net)
CCSD 2011: that’s it for me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *