Comic Con 2011: John L. Brooks II

John L. Brooks II has been publishing books and comics at 11th Hour Books since 2008. This is his first Comic Con, he said he got in at the 11th hour, no less.



The name “11th Hour” refers to the endangered species his books champion to children and, hopefully, their parents. Trying to teach kids environmental stewardship, which can only be good for all of us. John was inspired to start writing books after a 26 year career as an agent for the Federal Fish and Wildlife Service. He saw a lot of people breaking laws and doing hurtful things to nature just because they didn’t know any better. He hopes his books, some of them translated into other languages, will bring a little more environmental consciousness to the next generation and anyone else who reads them. He is a native, from Oakland but now settled in San Diego for the weather. He’s the writer on the books and has been working with a variety of artists. I think he’s publishing lovely books and the next time I know a kid who needs a gift, this is what they’re getting. And they will LOVE it.

See Comic Con 2011 for these artists:
Anson Jew (agoynamedjew.blogspot.com)
Ron Brown (freefallart.com)
Sabrina (sabrinabellydancer.com)
Ben Henderson (goldencrusader.com)
Steam Crow (steamcrow.com)
Kirstie Shepherd (curioandco.com)
Paul Roman Martinez (19xxad.com)
Ryan Claytor (elephanteater.com)
The Frantic Meerkat (franticmeerkat.com) and The Mincing Mockingbird (mincingmockingbird.com)
Karen Knighton (birdenvy.com)
Mary Bellamy (marybellamy.com)
John L. Brooks II (11thhourbooks.net)
Mike Bocianowski (artistmb.com)
Anthony Hon (motenaicomics.blogspot.com)
Shannon Wheeler (www.tmcm.com/tmcm)
Brett Bean (2dbean.com)
Celine Chapus (purpletophat.com)
Amy Mebberson (mimisgrotto.com)
Sho Murase (shomurase.com)
Katie Cook (katiecandraw.com)
Cat Staggs (www.catstaggs.com)
Bryan “Kaiser” Tillman (dark-legacy.net)
Sze Jones (szejones.com)
Maddox (maddox.xmission.com)
Thien Pham (thienisawesome.blogspot.com)
Ben Costa (shilongpang.com)
Jeannie L.S. Galster (jeaniels.com)
Debbie Huey (bumperboy.net)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *