Comic Con 2011: Amy Mebberson

Amy Mebberson draws very pretty girls and she had some cool artwork at her table in Artists’ Alley. She’s been a comic book artist since she moved out of animation at Disney at Sydney when it closed in 2006. After the studio shut down in Sydney, she and her husband moved to Portland, Oregon, the comic artist vortex of the universe. She didn’t decide to become an artist right away, she has a degree in music, and spent one bad year in design school before she started making a living at it.

She got the job at Disney on the strength of her drawing and they trained her in everything else she needed to know. Her table at Comic Con was her own work, but she’s drawing Strawberry Shortcake comics for Ape Entertainment. Maybe Strawberry Shortcake will get a bit of cheesecake from Amy. This is Amy’s third Comic Con, her first with her own table in Artist’s Alley. She’d been at CCSD as a guest of Tokyo Pop when she was one of their original English language manga artists. She was drawing for T Campbell on Divalicious, it lasted for two volumes, and then it ended. She’d like to revive her webcomics “As if” called “Thron” (sp?), but she had to quit doing them because she had paying work to do and we all have to pay the rent.

See Comic Con 2011 for these artists:
Anson Jew (agoynamedjew.blogspot.com)
Ron Brown (freefallart.com)
Sabrina (sabrinabellydancer.com)
Ben Henderson (goldencrusader.com)
Steam Crow (steamcrow.com)
Kirstie Shepherd (curioandco.com)
Paul Roman Martinez (19xxad.com)
Ryan Claytor (elephanteater.com)
The Frantic Meerkat (franticmeerkat.com) and The Mincing Mockingbird (mincingmockingbird.com)
Karen Knighton (birdenvy.com)
Mary Bellamy (marybellamy.com)
John L. Brooks II (11thhourbooks.net)
Mike Bocianowski (artistmb.com)
Anthony Hon (motenaicomics.blogspot.com)
Shannon Wheeler (www.tmcm.com/tmcm)
Brett Bean (2dbean.com)
Celine Chapus (purpletophat.com)
Amy Mebberson (mimisgrotto.com)
Sho Murase (shomurase.com)
Katie Cook (katiecandraw.com)
Cat Staggs (www.catstaggs.com)
Bryan “Kaiser” Tillman (dark-legacy.net)
Sze Jones (szejones.com)
Maddox (maddox.xmission.com)
Thien Pham (thienisawesome.blogspot.com)
Ben Costa (shilongpang.com)
Jeannie L.S. Galster (jeaniels.com)
Debbie Huey (bumperboy.net)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *