Comic Con 2011: Maddox!

So, I met Maddox! and his lovely companion, Marie the Lumberjack, this year.


Comic Con Gothic

His bestselling book, The Alphabet of Manliness, was inspired when he was reading a field guide to lesbians. Well, that’s what he said.

The Alphabet debuted at number four on the NY Times Bestseller list and went up to number two before dropping off. After having a writer website for nine years, he “came out of the blue,” as they bizarrely say in mainstream publishing, with The Alphabet, which was released in 2006 and re-released in 2009. He has a new book, I am Better Than your Kids, which is based on a piece that went viral last year where Maddox! graded children’s artwork. This book will be published next year by a publisher whose name I didn’t get, alas.

Maddox! also did an indy comic, The Best Comic in the Universe, for which Leah Tiscione did the artwork.

Maddox! doesn’t consider himself an artist, but a writer who draws. He’s been doing CCSD for the past six years. Maddox! is doing a show on YouTube and he’s making a line of hot sauce.

Other than promoting I am Better Than your Kids book, YouTube and hot sauce, the rest of Plan Maddox! 2012 are under wraps for now.

See Comic Con 2011 for these artists:
Anson Jew (agoynamedjew.blogspot.com)
Ron Brown (freefallart.com)
Sabrina (sabrinabellydancer.com)
Ben Henderson (goldencrusader.com)
Steam Crow (steamcrow.com)
Kirstie Shepherd (curioandco.com)
Paul Roman Martinez (19xxad.com)
Ryan Claytor (elephanteater.com)
The Frantic Meerkat and The Mincing Mockingbird (mincingmockingbird.com and franticmeerkat.com)
Karen Knighton (birdenvy.com)
Mary Bellamy (marybellamy.com)
John L. Brooks II (11thhourbooks.net)
Mike Bocianowski (artistmb.com)
Anthony Hon (motenaicomics.blogspot.com)
Shannon Wheeler (www.tmcm.com/tmcm)
Brett Bean (2dbean.com)
Celine Chapus (purpletophat.com)
Amy Mebberson (mimisgrotto.com)
Sho Murase (shomurase.com)
Katie Cook (katiecandraw.com)
Cat Staggs (www.catstaggs.com)
Bryan “Kaiser” Tillman (dark-legacy.net)
Sze Jones (szejones.com)
Maddox (maddox.xmission.com)
Thien Pham (thienisawesome.blogspot.com)
Ben Costa (shilongpang.com)
Jeannie L.S. Galster (jeaniels.com)
Debbie Huey (bumperboy.net)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *